Sterling Heights Politics gets a Facebook Group


If you read this blog and belong to Facebook, there is a new Facebook group you might also find interesting.

My friend Malcolm has started a new Facebook group which focuses on Sterling Heights politics.  The address is https://www.facebook.com/groups/SterlingPolitics/?fref=nf.

The group has been declared a ‘Free Speech Zone’, so say what you like as long as it doesn’t involve libeling private individuals, but be advised that the folks here are not strangers to controversy or putting together a well crafted argument.   I would imagine that anyone using the group for the purpose of put-downs or trash talk will get their come-uppance.

While you’re at it, tell your friends about this blog!

Posted on May 11, 2015, in Issues and views and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Geoff: Thank you for giving your readers a head’s up about this new Facebook group.

    I would especially invite those who disagree with me to join. As you know, arguing politics is no fun when everyone agrees with you all of the time.

    I would like to clarify your comment on how I define “Free Speech Zone” within the group.

    There are three tiers of rules, only one of which I control:

    1. Facebook’s Terms of Use which limit what can be said and who it can be said to.
    2. The law, and how it defines libel and harassment of private and public citizens.
    3. Rules I have put in place regarding good conduct within the group.

    I fully rely on #1 and #2 to take care of themselves. Here is the full text of how I defined “Free Speech” within the group:

    . . . . . . . . . .
    (paste)

    On Political Free Speech:
    I believe in free speech. Free speech isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always what you want to hear; but in the long run, the benefits of free speech outweigh the risks.

    For that reason, this board is a free speech zone. I will not censor someone simply because they disagree with me; I will not limit unpopular speech simply because it is unpopular.

    There are only 2 rules (at least 2 I can think of at the moment)
    1. No threats of violence, ever.
    2. No openly racist, sexist or otherwise discriminatory speech.

    This isn’t to say you will be prevented from making your opinion known. It’s just that this is a grown up world and I expect people to make their point without being reduced to slurs.

    So withthat being said… welcome all, and have at it. No topic of local political interest is off limits.

    (end paste)
    . . . . . . . . . .

