Southfield enacts LGBT protections


According to today’s Detroit Free Press, Southfield has enacted an anti-discrimination ordinance to protect LGBTs very similar to what was made into law and subsequently repealed in Sterling Heights.

I have to wonder: what will the fallout be from this?

Can Southfield expect to see a petition drive to remove the law?  Will there be a cadre of small-minded, pro-discrimination candidates for Mayor and City Council at the city’s next election?  Will the churches rise up and demand the right to continue to discriminate?

Perhaps even more importantly, will the folks who did all of those things in Sterling Heights take their message and their mission over to Southfield?  Will Paul Smith be making an appearance at that city’s council chambers?

I’m asking these things but I strongly suspect that none of the above will take place.  I could be proven wrong, but my gut instinct tells me that without a disgraced ex-councilman to lead the charge in Southfield, there is little chance that the town will be embarrassed by a sudden materializing of its most Neolithic residents.  People there will live and let live, and there will be little in the way of an organized effort to deny basic human rights for all of Southfield’s residents.

I could be wrong, though.  If our local batch of crazies happens to ask you for directions to get to Southfield, do us all a favor:

Direct them to Ohio.

Posted on January 27, 2015, in Issues and views. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The battle to repeal the GLBT ordinance was fought and won here in Sterling Heights. There is no need for Sterling Heights residents to go to another city.

  2. I disagree. I think the Smart Meter issue has proven that small groups of radicals are fully able to transport themselves to neighboring cities to protest the issues they find important.

    During our own LGBT debate, we had plenty of people (both for and against) showing up from various cities. I see no reason to think they won’t simply move their roadshow to Southfield.

  3. As usual, Geoff, you’re wrong. Still pissed off that good people of Sterling Heights finally did something and evil didn’t win? Thought so…

  4. malcom,The people who spoke out in favor of the GLBT came to our city from all over Macomb and Oakland county.The people against GLBT were sterling heights residents.

    • Not true. There were people for and against from all cities. (for example, Donald lopsinger, who spoke against, doesn’t live in the city).

  5. You are correct.Don was the only one that was from out of the city.There were 3 glbt in favor who lived in the city. The lesbian fireman,julie bondy,and a gay couple. The rest were from other cities. Chambers was stacked with supporters from other cities.

    • Joe, you’re distorting the facts. I am a Sterling Heights resident who was in support. There were many Sterling Heights residents in support. In fact, were we to take a citywide poll, I would bet money that a majority would support the law. The opposition was, in my opinion, a fringe element that was able to misrepresent the facts of what the ordinance was about in order to gain petition signatures. I’m sorry, but I find it extremely hard to politely disagree on this issue with you when you misrepresent what actually happened. I was there. I was aware of the ordinance well before you were. I saw what happened when it was enacted, I witnessed the tactics of the opposition — who then had the temerity to attack the council people for publicly voicing their disagreement and call it harassment — and then I saw the charade of pretending that all your side wanted to do was put it to a vote of the people. Saying the people who were for this were all gay activists from out of town is patently false. The people who were for this were people with a deep respect for equality under the law. Some of them were gay. Many more were not.

