August 2014 Primary Election


Sample Sterling Heights ballot: here

Once again it is time for the oft-ignored August primary election.  This year there are a couple of ballot proposals worth your consideration: one is a proposal to eliminate the business “personal” property tax and replace the revenue from different taxes via Lansing, and the other is a millage increase for Macomb County to support the SMART transportation system.

I have looked into both matters.  Although the removal of the business personal property tax has been a cause for concern for the city in the past, a deal has been struck that the city administration seems to think it can live with.   I will be voting “yes” on this issue.

As far as the tax increase to support the SMART system is concerned: I must confess that I am anti-public transportation, I don’t use it, and I think the system is poorly run.  I will be voting “no” on this issue.

Your voice is important, and your vote counts.  Please make sure you make it to the polls tomorrow.

 

 

Posted on August 4, 2014, in Issues and views. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Proposal 14-1….reduced state use tax and “replace with a local community stabilization share”….. sounds like a blank check to raise other taxes. Pretty ambiguous wording. It should be replaced by “cutting spending” but that doesn’t seem to be in anybody’s vocabulary anymore. But I strongly agree to vote NO on Smart Bus.

