Yet to come: new Police contract


This is just a brief note to my readers that no, I haven’t forgotten or somehow missed the fact that the P.A. 312 arbitration ruling was handed down concerning the disputed POA/MAP contract.

I submitted a Freedom of Information Act request for a copy of the new contract on September 27.  City Clerk Walter Blessed wrote back to inform me that although the ruling has been handed down, the city is still in the process of translating that ruling into a new contract with the police, and as such, it is not completely written yet, nor has it been proofread by both the city and the union.

Interestingly enough, one of the things I learned about this P.A. 312 arbitration process is that City Council doesn’t have the authority to approve the contract, nor does the union have the authority to ratify it.  This contract will go into effect without a public hearing.  Although I understand this is how the process is supposed to work, I have mixed feelings about it at best, as I’m sure the police and council do.

Either the police or council could appeal the ruling, but I am told this rarely happens.

Anyway, once the actual text of the agreement is available, I will be posting a copy to the labor contracts section of the website for your perusal.  Until then…there’s not much to talk about outside of what has already been reported in the professional news media, and I’ll withhold judgement until I see the actual document for myself.

 

Posted on September 28, 2012, in Issues and views. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Yet to come: new Police contract.

Comments are closed.

